OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County JOE HOLLAND

SECRETARY Santa Barbara County BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County JILL LAVINE Sacramento County MARKIUNN Ventura County KAREN RHEA Kern County MICHAEL VU San Diego County DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County CATHY ALLEN DARLING Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area **Riverside County** DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bav Area Monterey County LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD: SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK: KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627 E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

September 22, 2015

The Honorable Edmund G. Brown, Jr. Governor State Capitol Sacramento, CA 95814

Attention: Tom Dyer

Re: CACEO Support of AB 477

Dear Governor Brown;

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials wishes to advise you that it supports AB 477. This bill provides a remedy for voters who returned their vote by mail ballot to the election official by the required deadline but who failed to sign their return envelope as required. The bill permits election officials to retain the unsigned envelope and notify the voter of the omission and provide the voter the means to correct the deficiency so the ballot may be counted. The bill permits the voter to correct the deficiency up to 8 days after the election which provides adequate time for the voter to correct the omission.

We urge you to sign AB 477. Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at <u>scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us</u> or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Monofack

Scott O. Konopasek Corresponding Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Assembly Member Mullin, Author Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee